Mark Murphy - Beautiful Friendship (2014 A Beautiful Friendship Gearbox Records)

“It’s A Jazz Thing” BayFM 10th May 2017 Featuring Mark Murphy


Presented by Mark Robinson, featuring new jazz releases from Ross Hammond, Diego Barber, Morten Schantz & Azymuth amongst others.  Also, classics from the 60s, 70s & 80s and some Australian jazz thrown in too.

If you are an artist, a record company (are they still called that these days?) or a promoter I would love to receive your digital files for airplay.

The Playlist Featuring Mark Murphy on Gearbox Records

1. Ross Hammond – Blues for Bob Feathers (2017 Follow Your Heart Self Release)

Ross Hammond – Guitar

2. Diego Barber – Dilar River (2017 One Minute Later Sunnyside Records)

Diego Barber – Guitarist/composer a native of Lanzarote in the Canary Islands;
Ben Williams – bass
Eric Harland – drums

3. Duke Pearson – Bedouin (1964 Wohoo Blue Note Records)

James Spaulding – Alto Saxophone, Flute
Bob Cranshaw – Bass
Mickey Roker – Drums
Duke Pearson – Piano
Joe Henderson – Tenor Saxophone
Donald Byrd – Trumpet
Rudy Van Gelder – Recording Engineer
Written-By – Duke Pearson

4. The Don Rendell Ian Carr Quintet – Pavanne (1969 Live Columbia Records)

Don Rendell – Tenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone, Flute, Clarinet
Ian Carr – Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Dave Green – Bass
Trevor Tomkins – Drums
Michael Garrick – Piano

5. Fuse One – Grand Prix (1980 Fuse One CTI Records)

Ronnie Foster – Written-By
Jeremy Wall – Arranged By, Conductor
Tony Williams – Drums
Joe Farrell – Sax
John McLaughlin – Guitar
Larry Coryell – Guitar
Lenny White – Drums
Ndugu – Percussion
Paulinho Da Costa; – Percussion
Ronnie Foster – Keys
Stanley Clarke – Bass
Creed Taylor – Producer

6. Peter Herbolzheimer Rhythm Combination & Brass – Wild Chick (1973 Waitaminute MPS Records)

P. Herbolzheimer – Composer Alto Saxophone, Flute – Herb Geller
Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen – Bass
Sabu Martinez – Congas, Bongos, Tabla
Art Farmer – Trumpet, Flugelhorn

7. Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen – Wee Dot (1964 The Bass In The Background 1962-92 Storyville Records)

Johnny Griffin – tenor sax
Kenny Drew – piano
Niels Henning Ørsted Pedersen – bass
Art Taylor – drums

8. Les McCann & The Jazz Crusaders – This Here (1963 Jazz Waltz Pacific Jazz Records)

Robert Haynes – Bass
“Stix” Hooper – Drums
Les McCann – Piano, Electric Piano, Organ
Joe Sample – Piano, Organ
Wilton Felder – Tenor Saxophone
Wayne Henderson – Trombone

9. Mike Nock Roger Manins – Can’t We Be Friends (2015 Two Out FWM Records)

Mike Nock – Piano
Roger Manins – Tenor Saxophone

10. Mike Nock Trio & NZTrio – El Testamen De Amelia (2016 Vicissitudes Rattle Jazz)

Mike Nock – Piano
Brett Hirst – Bass
James Waples – Drums

Justine Cormack – Violin
Sarah Watkins – Piano
Ashley Brown – cello

Vicissitudes came about after Philip Tremewan (Director of the Christchurch Arts Festival) suggested to Mike Nock that he write a piece for two trios using a set of variations to show the different approaches each group might bring to the same piece of music. The idea was to combine the disparate worlds of jazz and classical music to show the strength of the human spirit when faced with seemingly overwhelming obstacles.

11. Mike Nock Trio – An Accumulation of Subtleties (2010 An Accumulation of Subtleties FWM Records)

Mike Nock – Piano
Ben Waples – Double Bass
James Waples – Drums

12. Trichotomy – Foran Policy – Bonus Track (2017 Known Unknown Challenge Records)

Sean Foran – Piano & Electronics
John Parker – Drums & Electronics
Sam Vincent – Bass & Electronics
Recorded at QLD Conservatorium Griffith University, Brisbane 22-26 June 2016

13. Mark Murphy – Beautiful Friendship (2014 A Beautiful Friendship Remembering Shirley Horn Gearbox Records)

Mark Murphy – Vocals
Curtis Lundy – Double Bass
Steve Williams – Drums
Alex Minasian – Piano

14. Gretchen Parlato – Turning Into Blue (2009 In A Dream ObliqSound Records)

Gretchen Parlato – Vocals
Derrick Hodge – Bass
Kendrick Scott – Drums
Aaron Parks – Glockenspiel
Aaron Parks – Organ
Aaron Parks – Piano

15. Kevin Field – Shatneresque (2015 The A List Warner Music)

Kevin Field – Piano
Matt Penman – Bass
Nir Felder – Guitar
Obed Calvaire – Drums

16. Azymuth – Fênix (2016 Fênix Far Out Recordings)

Ivan Conti – Drums
Alex Malheiros – Bass
Kiko Continentino – Keys

17. Morten Schantz – Drill (2017 Godspeed Edition Records)

Morten Schantz – Fender Rhodes Electric Piano
Marius Neset – Soprano and Tenor Saxophone
Anton Eger – Drums, percussion & handclaps

18. George Benson – Breezin’ (1976 Breezin’ WB Records)

George Benson – Lead Guitar, Vocals
Stanley Banks – Bass
Jorge Dalto – Clavinet, Piano [Acoustic]
Harvey Mason – Drums
Ronnie Foster – Electric Piano, Synthesizer [Mini-moog]
Percussion – Ralph MacDonald
Phil Upchurch – Rhythm Guitar



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *