Howard Johnson and Gravity

“It’s A Jazz Thing” BayFM 3rd May 2017 Featuring Howard Johnson


Presented by Mark Robinson, featuring new jazz releases from Howard Johnson, Tricotomy, Morten Schantz, Helge Lien and Verneri Pohjola to name just a few. Also, a classic from Sonny Rollins, a stunning ballad from Karrin Allyson and some Australian jazz thrown in too.

If you are an artist, a record company (are they still called that these days?) or a promoter I would love to receive your digital files for airplay.

The Playlist Featuring New Releases from Howard Johnson and Gravity

  1. Trichotomy – Foran Policy – Bonus Track (2017 Known Unknown Challenge Records)

Sean Foran – Piano
John Parker – Drums
Samuel Vincent – Bass

  1. Morten Schantz – Dark Matter (2017 Godspeed Edition Records)

Morten Schantz – All keyboards
Marius Neset – Soprano and Tenor saxophones, Korg MS-10 bass synth
Anton Eger – Drums, percussion & handclaps
Produced by Morten Schantz with Kristian Thomsen

  1. Chris Mason-Battley Group – Tairua (2006 Two Tides Rattle Records)

Richard Nunns – Taonga Puoro
Chris Mason-Battley – Soprano & Tenor Sax
David Lines – Piano
Graeme Webb – Guitars / Guitar Synth
Sam Giles – Bass
Steve Garden – Drums & Percussion

  1. Helge Lien Trio – Guzuguzu (Moving Slowly) (2017 Guzuguzu Ozella Music)

Helge Lien – Piano
Frode Berg – Bass
Per Oddvar Johansen – Drums

  1. Mammal Hands – The Eyes That Saw The Mountain (2016 Floa Gondwana Records)

Jordan Smart – Saxophone
Nick Smart – Piano
Jesse Barrett – Drums & Tabla

  1. Tony Gould & Mike Nock – Indifference (2016 The Monash Sessions Tony Gould & Mike Nock Jazzhead Records)

Mike Nock – Piano
Josh Bennier – Trombone
Stephen Byth – Alto Sax
Paul Williamson – Trumpet
Hiroki Hoshino – Bass
Julian Steele – Keys

  1. Denys Baptiste – Living Space (2017 The Late Trane Edition Records)

Denys Baptiste – tenor saxophone
Nikki Yeoh – piano and keyboards
Neil Charles – bass
Rod Youngs – drums
Gary Crosby – bass
Steve Williamson – tenor saxophone
All music by John Coltrane

  1. Nat Birchall – Nica’s Dance (2016 Akhenaten Gondwana Records)

Nat Birchall – Tenor Saxophone, Composer, Producer
Gavin Barras – Bass
Gaz Hughes – Drums
Adam Fairhall – Piano

  1. Verneri Pohjola – Benjamin (2017 Pekka Edition Records)

Verneri Pohjola – Trumpet
Tuomo Prättälä – Fender Rhodes
Teemu Viinikainen – Guitar
Mika Kallio – Drums
Antti Lötjönen – Bass

  1. Sonny Rollins – There Will Never Be Another You (1963 Our Man In Jazz RCA Victor Records)

Sonny Rollins – Tenor Saxophone
Henry Grime – Bass
Don Cherry – Cornet
Billy Higgins – Drums

  1. Joe Lovano Ensemble – The Birth Of The Cool Suite; Boplicity, Postlude (2005 Streams of Expression Blue Note Records)

Steve Slagle – Soprano Saxophone
Joe Lovano – Alto Clarinet
Gary Smulyan – Baritone Saxophone
Dennis Irwin – Bass
Charles Russo – Clarinet, Bass Clarinet
Lewis Nash – Drums
Michael Parloff – Flute
James Weidman – Piano
Ralph Lalama – Tenor Saxophone, Clarinet
Larry Farrell – Trombone
Barry Ries Tim Hagans – Trumpet

  1. Willie Bobo – New Day Magic (1970 Dig My Feeling Nacional Records)

Willie Bobo – Producer and Percussion
Eric Bobo, Mario Rodriguez – 2016 Reissue Producers

  1. Ollie Howell – Coming Home (2017 Self Identity Ropeadope Records)

Ollie Howell – Drums/Compositions/Electronics
Duncan Eagles – Tenor Saxophone
Ant Law – Electric Guitar
Henry Spencer – Trumpet
Matt Robinson – Piano/Rhodes
Max Luthert – Double Bass

  1. Howard Johnson and Gravity – High Priest (2017 Testimony Tuscarora Records)

Howard Johnson – Tuba, Baritone Saxophone, Penny Whistle
Velvet Brown, Dave Bargeron, Earl McIntyre; Joseph Daley, Bob Stewart – Tuba
Carlton Holmes – Piano
Melissa Slocum – Bass
Buddy Williams – Drums

  1. Judy Bailey Quartet – Colours Of My Dream (1976 Colours Eureka Records)

Denise Keene – Vocals
Ron Philpott – Bass
John Pochee – Drums
Judy Bailey – Electric Piano
Ken James – Saxophone

  1. Karrin Allyson – Naima (2001 Ballads Remembering John Coltrane Concord Jazz)

Karrin Allyson – Vocals, Piano
John Patitucci – Acoustic Bass
Lewis Nash – Drums
James Carter – Tenor Saxophone
James Williams – Piano

  1. Jamie Oehlers and Tal Cohen – Armistice (2016 Innocent Dreamer Self Release)

Jamie Oehlers – tenor sax
Tal Cohen – piano

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *