Pat Labarbera

“It’s A Jazz Thing” BayFM 17th May 2017 Featuring Pat LaBarbera


Presented by Mark Robinson, featuring new jazz releases from Pat LaBarbera, Tommy Smith & The BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Nick Haywood Trio, Gerardo Frisina & Binker & Moses to name just a few. Also, a classic from Horace Silver, a stunning Latin piece from Byron Morris & Unity and a Jazz Funk masterpiece from New Zealand band Space Case.

If you are an artist, a record company (are they still called that these days?) or a promoter I would love to receive your digital files for airplay.
1. Tommy Smith & The BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra – Children’s Songs (2016 Modern Jacobite Spartacus Records)

Tenor Saxophone – Tommy Smith

2. Nick Haywood Trio – Many Rivers To Cross (2017 Many Rivers Jazzhead Records)

Bass – Nick Haywood
Piano – Colin Hopkins
Drums – Niko Schäuble

3. Horace Silver – Mysticism (1975 Silver ‘n Brass Blue Note Records)

Written-By, Arranged By, Piano – Horace Silver
Acoustic Bass – Ron Carter
Drums – Al Foster
French Horn – Vince Derosa
Tenor Saxophone – Bob Berg
Trombone – Frank Rosolino, Maurice Spears
Trumpet – Tom Harrell
Trumpet, Flugelhorn – Bobby Bryant, Oscar Brashear
Woodwind – Buddy Collette, Jerome Richardson

4. David Friesen Circle 3 Trio – Bright Light Sky (2016 Triple Exposure Origin Records)

Hemage Bass – David Friesen
Piano – Greg Goebel
Drums – Charlie Doggett

5. Clay Giberson – The Time For Now (2016 Pastures Sunnyside Records)

Piano – Clay Giberson
Tenor Saxophone – Donny McCaslin
Bass – Drew Gress
Drums – Matt Wilson

6. Jasshauze – Pulsar (2017 Jasshauze EBjazz Records)

Composer & Arranger, Trumpet – Eric Bolvin
Tenor Saxophone – Scott Barnhill

7. Gerardo Frisina – Olympia – Part II (2017 Blue Latin Schema Records)

Produced by Gerardo Frisina for Schema Records
Piano and Fender Rhodes – Giovanni Guerretti
Drums and Percussion – Ernesto Lopez
Trumpet – Hendrickson Mena
Bass and Double Bass – Enzo Frassi
Saxophone, Flute – Mamone

8. Dee C’rell – Headphone Walking (2015 Kompilation 1 Holm Records)

Dee C’rell – all instruments

9. Byron Morris and Unity – Panamanian Aire (1994 Vibrations In Time By-Mor Music)

Alto Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone, Flute, Liner Notes – Byron Morris
Bass – Frank Clayton
Drums – Tyronne Walker
Piano, Electric Piano – Gene Adler
Trumpet, Flugelhorn – Vincent McEwan
Vocals, Voice – Jay Clayton

10. Binker & Moses – Fete By The River (2017 Journey To The Mountain Of Forever Gearbox Records)

Tenor Saxophone – Binker Golding
Drums – Moses Boyd

11. Sr. Langosta – Cerdos de Cuello Blanco (2017 El Experimento Caribeño Ropeadope Select Records)

Guitar – Jorge Andres Ferreras
Keyboards – Alexandra Rivera
Percussion and Vibraphone – Timothy Cooper
Drums – Gamaliel Santiago
Electric Bass – Manuel Rodriguez

12. Space Case – Mr Gone (2016 The Way In Is The Way Out – The Music of Murray McNabb Sarang Bang Records)

Arranged By, Music Director – Murray McNabb
Bass – Bruce Lynch
Drums – Frank Gibson
Orchestra – Auckland Neophonic Orchestra
Soprano Saxophone – Brian Smith
Trumpet – Kim Paterson

13. Ross Hammond & Vinny Golia – Creek Watching (For A.A.Milne) (2016 Ross Hammond & Vinny Golia Prescott Recordings)

Acoustic 12 String Guitar – Ross Hammond
Alto Flute, Bass Clarinet, G Soprano Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone – Vinny Golia

14. Philippe Baden Powell – Chica (2017 Notes Over Poetry Far Out Recordings)

Piano Philippe – Baden Powell
French Jazz Drummer – André Ceccarelli
Belgian jazz Vocalist – David Linx
Afro-Brazilian Percussion Master – Ruca Rebordão

15. Pat LaBarbera – Whatever Stan Wants (2007 The Power Of Beauty – A Tribute To Stan Getz 7 Arts Entertainment)

Tenor Sax – Pat LaBarbera

16. Miles Davis Featuring Sonny Rollins – Denial (1956 Dig Prestige Records)

Tenor Saxophone – Sonny Rollins
Trumpet – Miles Davis
Alto Saxophone – Jackie McClean
Bass – Tommy Potter
Drums – Art Blakey
Piano – Walter Bishop

17. Marvin Parks – Nature Boy (2017 Marvin Parks Schema Records)

Vocals – Marvin Parks
Alto Saxophone – Daniele Tittarelli
Trumpet – Francesco Lento
Piano – Pietro Lussu
Double Bass – Luca Alemanno
Drums – Nicola Angelucci
Percussion – Pierpaolo Bisogno
Guitar – Nicola Conte
Alto Saxophone – Logan Richardson
Producer – Nicola Conte

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *